JohnWCampbell-WhoGoesThere-314x218In the flurry of science fiction, fantasy and horror awards due this time of year, after the announcement of the Bram Stoker Awards winners and the Shirley Jackson Awards finalists, now we have the John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalists for 2015. And I should confirm that neither Emily St. John Mandel (Station Eleven) nor Will McIntosh (Defenders) are any relation. It’s a pretty impressive slate, though, and includes Jeff VanderMeer’s Area X  from his Southern Reach Trilogy, already recognized in the Shirley Jackson Awards, and Peter Watts’s Echopraxia, which I rated my second most favorite book of 2014.

As per the Award details, “the Award is presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, as the focal point of a weekend of discussions about the writing, illustration, publishing, teaching, and criticism of science fiction. We hope to release lists of finalists for as many previous Awards as possible, so check back for updates.”

The Campbell Conference and Awards 2015 is due to take place on June 11-14, at the University of Kansas Student Union, under the auspices of the KU Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. Also presented at the same event will be the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction of the year, although finalists for this have yet to be announced.


  1. Glad to see this is being held at KU, which is where I went to school. I had the privilege of taking one of Gunn’s science fiction classes, and I remember thinking it was pretty cool to be taking a class from a well-respected published author.

The TeleRead community values your civil and thoughtful comments. We use a cache, so expect a delay. Problems? E-mail