Morning Roundup: Netflix of books won over publishing. Libraries need digital lending even more

netflix of booksHow the Netflix of Books Won Over the Publishing Industry (Cnet)
Oyster has grown its library of books available to its all-you-can-eat subscribers to more than 100,000 titles. CEO Eric Stromberg told CNET how it happened, and how the company is changing the world of reading.
***

Slashed Budgets Mean Libraries Need Digital Lending More Than Ever (GoodeReader)
Public libraries have been teetering on the brink of extinction for years, a fact that doesn’t seem likely to improve in the near future given the economic situations that lead local governments to take aim at the libraries as a primary target. And despite data that shows 91% survey respondents believe libraries are vital to the overall health and growth of a community, they continue to come under fire.
***

10 Reasons You Should (Re) Discover Canlit in 2014 (Book Riot)
Canadian Literature. It’s awesome. You should read more of it. I know, I know, I do say that all the time, but I’m particularly excited about what 2014 has in store for readers of CanLit; I thought it might be an excellent time to remind you of what you should be smuggling across the border at first opportunity.
***

Free Samples of the 2014 Newbery Medal & Newbery Honor Winners (GalleyCat)
The American Library Association has announced that Flora & Ulysess author Kate DiCamillo is the winner of the prestigious John Newbery Medal.
***

Kindle Daily Deals: The Jericho Deception (and others)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*



wordpress analytics