TeleReadI had a pretty bizarre email waiting for me in my in-box this morning. It was from a fellow I’ll call Bill, since I don’t know if he would actually appreciate being identified here or not.

At any rate, Bill was getting in touch, odd as it may sound, to alert me to the fact that TeleRead had somehow—at some point—been cloned. Bill proceded to tell me that a website of his had previously been cloned by someone using the IP address—he thinks they also used—and he was eventually able to stop the cloners by simply blocking their IP address. (He’s under the impression that his cloner and mine are probably one and the same.)

Here’s what else Bill told me:

It happened to our site a month or two ago and once we noticed we were able to stop it by blocking their IP address. They have copied three other websites since then but we have been able to warn those other sites and they have blocked them too. Now it appears to be your turn!

Pretty odd, no? Bill was also kind enough to share the cloned URL with me, and now I’m going to share it with you, because I find these sorts of lame-ass scams to be just ridiculous beyond belief. Seriously, take a look at this: http://www.blognix.com.

Can you believe that? Blognix?! Come on. “I assume it is done so that they can get income from advertising without having to do any work,” Bill told me, in his email. “Looking back through search engine history they copied another site before ours.”


Now that we know about the cloned site (thanks again, Bill!), I doubt this will be much of a problem for us. Our parent company, NAPCO, has a top-flight IT team that I suspect can take care of the issue in no time.

Still, since I know TeleRead has such a widely intelligent readership, I thought it might be somewhat gratifying (so to speak) to try a little crowdsourced online sleuthing. There’s got be someone out there in the TeleRead community who can do a little digging and figure out who’s behind this Blognix business, yes?

A simple Who Is search, for instance, gives us the name, the email address, and even the street address of the person who (supposedly) registered the URL in the first place. We also know that enom.com is the company hosting the bogus site. If any of our readers happen to have the skills necessary to dig up something a bit juicier, please let us know in the comments!