0

netflix of booksHow the Netflix of Books Won Over the Publishing Industry (Cnet)
Oyster has grown its library of books available to its all-you-can-eat subscribers to more than 100,000 titles. CEO Eric Stromberg told CNET how it happened, and how the company is changing the world of reading.
***

Slashed Budgets Mean Libraries Need Digital Lending More Than Ever (GoodeReader)
Public libraries have been teetering on the brink of extinction for years, a fact that doesn’t seem likely to improve in the near future given the economic situations that lead local governments to take aim at the libraries as a primary target. And despite data that shows 91% survey respondents believe libraries are vital to the overall health and growth of a community, they continue to come under fire.
***

10 Reasons You Should (Re) Discover Canlit in 2014 (Book Riot)
Canadian Literature. It’s awesome. You should read more of it. I know, I know, I do say that all the time, but I’m particularly excited about what 2014 has in store for readers of CanLit; I thought it might be an excellent time to remind you of what you should be smuggling across the border at first opportunity.
***

Free Samples of the 2014 Newbery Medal & Newbery Honor Winners (GalleyCat)
The American Library Association has announced that Flora & Ulysess author Kate DiCamillo is the winner of the prestigious John Newbery Medal.
***

Kindle Daily Deals: The Jericho Deception (and others)

 
0