As per the previous coverage of the 25th Anniversary World Horror Convention (a.k.a. WHC), the presentation ceremony for the 2014 Bram Stoker Awards® was held at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis Hotel on the evening of Saturday May 9th. The winners, each of whom received a bronze statuette originally co-designed by Harlan Ellison, were:

Superior Achievement in a NOVEL
Blood Kin by Steve Rasnic Tem (Solaris Books)

Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL
Mr. Wicker by Maria Alexander (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL
Phoenix Island by John Dixon (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)

Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL
Bad Blood by Jonathan Maberry (Dark Horse Books)

Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION
“Fishing for Dinosaurs” by Joe R. Lansdale (Limbus, Inc., Book II,JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION (tie)

“The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” by Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous, Written Backwards)
“Ruminations” by Rena Mason (Qualia Nous, Written Backwards)

Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY
The Babadook by Jennifer Kent (Causeway Films)

Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY
Fearful Symmetries edited by Ellen Datlow (ChiZine Publications)

Superior Achievement in a FICTION COLLECTION
Soft Apocalypses by Lucy A. Snyder (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in NON-FICTION
Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guideby Lucy A. Snyder (Post Mortem Press)

Superior Achievement in a POETRY COLLECTION
Forgiving Judas by Tom Piccirilli (Crossroad Press)

Also recognized by the Horror Writers Association were Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee with Lifetime Achievement Awards, and Brett Savory and Sandra Kasturi of ChiZine Publications with The Specialty Press Award.

(For my previous commentary on the Awards, please see here.)


The TeleRead community values your civil and thoughtful comments. We use a cache, so expect a delay. Problems? E-mail